Scoliosis/Harrington Rod and herniated disc

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi. I'm new here. I've been experiencing sciatic pain on my left leg for past 4 months. Surgeon said yesterday I have a herniated disc that is complicated by my scoliosis. He wants to remove my Harrington rod and do a spinal fusion which would correct my curviture. My rod is 50 yrs. Old! Any one ever have this done?

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

My Harrington rods are 44 years old. I was having crippling pain in my lower back due to a compensatory curve in my tailbone. I was told to have surgery with more rods and fusion -instead, I started practicing B ikram yoga 5 years ago. No more pain. My instructors often mention that it helps with sciatica also.
    • Posted

Thank you for this. I'm not convinced I need this surgery. I've been in pain for 4 months. Tried a chiropractor but was only good for 1 week then I started feeling the same way again. I'm better than I was 4 months ago but still can't do what I like, gardening, traveling. I can't sit our stand for very long. Looking for other people's input

• Posted

I know how it is, I was living a very limited life due to my back pain. I had difficulty even getting through grocery shopping, let alone doing anything active. I tried B ikram yoga in total desperation, but had little faith that it would help. I think its the heat that helps, because it seems to relieven the tightness and spasming. I truly could barely walk when I started, and I could only do a little bit in the classes. However, I noticed the pain relief in the first few classes, and that's what kept me going back. I still have a crooked gait, but other than that I'm completely able bodied. I can't re ommend it highly enough!

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!