Sleep Aid Gadgets - Do they work? Please share your experience or recommendation.

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello everybody. First I would like to apologise if this topic has already been discussed before in the forum. I couldn't find anything. Maybe I am not good at searching.. Sorry. Now on topic: have you used a sleep aid gadget before. I am having trouble sleeping (no matter how much I sleep I still feel tired in the morning) and I am looking at a few gadgets currently on the market to try. I won't mention names or post links because I don't want to advertise any of them. Just wanted to know if anyone have any experience with this sort of gadgets and if you could recommend any of them. I will greatly appreciate any feedback. Thank you.

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Hi Melissa,

I’ve probably gone through as many sleep gadgets as pretty much anyone on the planet. I'm the "sleep guy" among my circle of friends and here’s a partial list of what I’ve found …

Ear plugs

I find earplugs very helpful. Even if it’s not a noisy environment I’m sort of addicted to them because then I hear my own breathing, which I find relaxing. Studies show that the foam ones, such as the brownish ones sold by Walgreens, provide the most sound blockage.

White Noise Machines

I also find white noise machines to be relaxing even if there isn’t a lot of outside noise. A good online one is the white noise generator provided by TMSoft.

I have mild/moderate sleep apnea so here is some sleep apnea information …

CPAP Machines

CPAP machines work for many people, but some people find it very hard to get used to them. Nowadays there are some very sophisticated ones available. There are a lot of good discussion boards where people really geek out on their CPAP settings, such as the Sleep Apnea Board. (I was never able to get used to a CPAP machine.)

Chin Straps and Dental Appliances