Suffering from Pruritus Ani for 2 years

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi,

I have been suffering from Pruritus Ani for about 2 years now ever since I had an Anal Fissure. The fissure has healed now, but the area still itches (probably because I didn't treat the area very well at the time). It is especially itchy when there are faeces on it.

I find it difficult to get clean down there; I often find bits of faeces leak out onto the skin around the anus. I have had this for most of my life. As a preventative measure, I would wipe just inside the anus (inside the external sphincter, but not beyond the internal sphincter.... I think?? Sorry I'm no anatomy expert!). I am wondering if I am cleaning too much though?

I have 2 questions:

1. Is it OK to leave a bit of faeces on the skin? I have just been cleaning the area again whenever this happens, but I figure I'm probably overdoing it since this has been going on for 2 years now. I genuinely think I'm just cleaning too much and am stuck in a cycle... I just need to know if I can 'ignore' this or not.

2. Is it normal for bits of faeces to leak out like this? It has been this way for as long as I can remember and has never caused me any problems until now. Do I have faecal incontinence?

I saw a dermatologist a few weeks back who gave me pretty decent advice. She advised me to 'calm things down a bit'. She told me to never wipe 'inside' the anus (beyond the external sphincter), and after a bowel motion to apply an emollient cream after gently washing with water. Whilst this seems to be pretty sound advice, which worked for the most part, I ended up cleaning again due to the leaked faeces. I now dab soft toilet paper 'inside' the anus twice only, then apply an emollient cream after gently washing with water. This works even better, but I do still occasionally have a bit of faeces leak out though which makes me itch.

Here's everything else I've tried:

• I have tried avoiding certain foods, but this did nothing.