TIA

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi, I hope somebody will be able to answer my question please.

My mother had a TIA and did not seek any medical advice for about 2 weeks from her doctor.

Would this delay in going straight to hospital have caused a faster decline in her health after the TIA, as opposed to going straight to A&E after the TIA?

My mother's health has deteriorated rapidly since the TIA but this may be a combination of her Diabetes 2 and Osteoporosis.

Any help gladly received.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I went the best part of a year between first symptoms and finally going to a doctor with no adverse effects. obviously I wouldn't recommend that as a course of action but the T does stand for Transient which suggests to me DISCLAIMER I AM NOT A DOCTOR that delays are not going to have knock on effects.

I was around 52 at the time

• Posted

from a doctor's point of view, delays are bad but another TIA or worse a full stroke can happen at any time. I honestly think the word "transient" should really be replaced with "sudden"

• Posted

I'm not disputing that delays are bad, I've had two further incidents since my first series of treatments and on each subsequent occasion I've been in the Emergency Department of Southampton General within 30 minutes however the original question was

"Would this delay in going straight to hospital have caused a faster decline in her health after the TIA, as opposed to going straight to A&E after the TIA?"

Which my experience (note I also emphasised my status a NOT A DOCTOR) suggested it didn't. Experience that your post seems to support.

• Posted

Nobody disputed your comment... and as for the original question, I answered it. I just replied to your comment

• Posted

your mother has delayed in getting medical assistance, okay.