upped levy by 25 mgs

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi, had my thyriod tested which was 10.2  even though i have been on 100mg of levey for 4yrs.  dose now increased to 125mg since25days ago. still not feeling its working.  Does anyone have any idea when this will kick in? made app for bloods to be redone 0n the 18th feb

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hello  Melody:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA and I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease.

All thyroid meds can take 6 to 12 weeks to work. Levo must be taken on an empty stomach and you must wait about 1 hour before eating.

Sometimes, Levo does not work on some people and the TSH (Thyroid Stimulating Hormone), does not come down.  YOUR TSH is 10.2 and that is too high.  Normal should be 0.45  to 4.50.

So what you should do is keep taking it, and do blood again in 8 weeks and see if your TSH can come down.  Sometimes people do need more of a dose as it goes by weight. Most people are on 75mcg to 100mcg.

Ask your doctor to test your TSH, T4 and T3 levels so you will know more and it will tell us if it is working on you on your next blood draw.

Also ask for a mineral panel to include Potassium, calcium, sodium, magnesium, iron and ferritin, & selenium.  You need good ferritin levels in you so Levo will work.  Also Vit D can be low in people with thyroid disease, so check that also.  This is a special blood test and it takes a week to do.

There are other thyroid meds on the market, just to let you know. Some are Liothyronine, Liotrix, NDT-natural dessicated thyroid such as Armour thyroid.  It is made from a pig's gland which is close to a human's one.

Keep us posted on how you do,

Shelly

• Posted

Hi, it usually takes 6-8 weeks to build up the dose of thyroxine. Also get vitamin B12 and zinc tested if you can. Low B12 is common and can make you feel lousy. Zinc is needed for the immune system to work correctly. The rule of thumb dose of thyroxine is 1.7mcg per kg of body weight.