Worried about car parking at work

Posted , 4 users are following.

Gosh it's been a long time since I've been on here! I'm hoping someone might be able to help me with a bit of a problem.I have had PSA for about 6 years. It is reasonably controlled so I have been able to continue working part time. My employer is closing my current work location and relocating all staff to the city centre ( I am in UK) it is a job requirement that I am a driver with a car and they are to provide a car parking pass. "Great" I thought!! However, the car park for which we have a pass is 20 minutes walk from the office. I am worried that I will not be able to walk this distance up to four times a day in order to conduct home visits ( I am a housing officer.) I do not claim DLA or PIP & do not have a disabled pass. Can I reasonably expect my employer to provide me with parking closer to the office? Many thanks in advance, I would appreciate your opinions & advice

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I would say it is reasonable to ask your employer to provide closer parking. You might be able to quote they they have a responsibility to provide reasonable conditions for both your safety and your health. I assume that they know you have the condition and therefore they have a duty of care to ensure that they do not cause the condition to be worse or effected 
    • Posted

Thanks for your reply Robert271163 , it is much appreciated. My employer does know about my arthritis but I am concerned that without a blue badge, they won't consider my request. I do think it's a reasonable request though, given that I have 27 years service and they are changing my working conditions. I have decided to speak to hr and occupational health & will post an update as it may be of interest to others on this forum. Cheers
  • Posted

Hi there

Just seeing how you got on. . I am HR Mgr with PsA and a blue badge. Here to help if you need any.

Take care

S

• Posted