Could they be looking for sarcoidosis?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi! I'm new to this and just have a few questions.

I'm a 37 year old female non smoker.

In Jan I had a few chest pains and felt a bit like anxiety we think off to a & E had chest xray e g all fine.

Went a couple more weeks had dizzy spells, nausea and lack of appetite. Off to a & E all bloods ok plus chest xray and ecg. Sent home with anti dizzy/sick pills.

2 weeks later I had a letter saying there was a shadow on my xray which they don't think is anything but to get it checked at thorasic.

Panic ensues! Still feeling poorly Dr's can't find details anything gets apart from raised temp (37.6 and 37.8).

Thorasic Dr thought all ok but would check with his team what they thought.

Letter back saying they want to ct scan chest/abdomin/pelvis. The pysiologists saw slight changes in my breathing tests and this could mean narrowing of pipes so a ct would be wise due to shadow and temp.

Sorry for long post but do you think they are looking for sarcoidosis?

I don't have typical symptoms but just don't know why they would be doing a big ct scan for lung shadow?

Hope you can help!

Claire

3 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Claire, I am just going through tests to see if have sarcoidosis, I think they do ct scan etc as a matter of course now, I was told x ray's can show up things and then a ct scan can often show all is fine, this site is brilliant for advice, am sure you will be fine, keep me posted x

• Posted

Thanks Gail.

I have my CT scan this Friday but follow up at the thorasic clinic on 26th April to discuss!

It was just that they were scanning the whole torso not just the lungs which worried me.

Reading through posts I wonder if I have sarcoidosis as I have aching joints, shoulders and the Dr last told me I have a urine infection!

Claire

• Posted