Does weather affect symptoms - help for my horse please..

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello all I am hoping some of you poor sufferers may be able to give me some information.  My beloved horse has a chronic lung disease and with veterinary medicine being so far behind human medicine - we have never reached a diagnosis (I am also a vet as well as her owner).  I never stop reading - trying to work out what is wrong with her to the point I'm thoroughly overcome with anxiety and depression.  I think the two most likely scenarios are asthma or interstitial lung disease.  She had episodes of severe breathlessness at rest for 2 years during the day in hot weather - symptoms resolved overnight and during cold weather.  She then hugely improved and was almost symptomless for a year and doing a lot of exercise. She then had only very mild symptoms for 3 years, but has suddenly relapsed to episodes of severe symptoms (since some misinformed surgery was performed on her).  Her respiratory rate and effort become massively elevated, standing still, but overnight this normally returns to normal at rest.  She is usually short of breath when she walks now and after 15 minutes has to stop to take a couple of deep breaths.  If it is very cold and frosty, very windy, or if it rains heavily, she is fine and can even run with no symptoms.  Please could any of you who suffer from lung disease tell me your experiences - do you think these symptoms could be compatible with pulmonary fibrosis or do you never get relief from your symptoms with changes in environment/weather?  Since she is a horse, if this is her diagnosis and her quality of life is only going to deteriorate then I need to consider euthanasia as the kindest option.  However, I desperately hope she can recover again, and whilst she could have a lung biopsy it is very risky in a horse, and I do not want to do this if her symptoms sound more typical of asthmathan lung fibrosis.