harrishill1

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone, I've been doing fine on Hydroxyurea for three yrs and all of a sudden my red blood count went extremely high. My Hematologist has me taking two a day instead of one. I had recently gained ten pounds. I wonder if the weight gain has anything to do with my high red count? Anyone else have this problem? I have been dieting, and lost 4 pounds.

Still trying to get down to 123 pounds. Hope this helps.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I'm roughly 8st heavier than I should be should be and the experience I have is my cell count creeps up over a 6mth period. Would u be eating or drinking anything that has lots of iron in it? Don't know if that would be the cause . Though I try to avoid anything with high iron content.
  • Posted

Hello again.

We were in touch a couple of years ago when I was first diagnosed and your positivity helped me a great deal.

It will be three years in August since I found I had polycytaemia and a similar thing has happened to me. My blood has been stable for quite some time but at my last check it had gone above the ideal and I had a venesection (first one for ages) My Hydroxyurea has also been increased to 2 daily. I could do to lose a few pounds but seem to have no motivation this time of year. I believe the Hydroxyurea dose is based on bodyweight so this perhaps has some relevance. Will certainly try harder from now.

Best wishes and take care

Janet

• Posted