I'd like Patient UK to change some information?

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello, I was suspected of having Klinefelter's syndrome in late 1975, I was karyotyped in 1976, and I began therapy in 1977.

I have been studying Klinefelter's syndrome since 1976. I believe I am the most knowledgeable patient treated for Klinefelter's syndrome in the world. I certainly know more about it that ALL but 1 of the doctors I have met. Most doctors haven't got a clue.

The information here is old and out of date. It promotes all the commonly held misconceptions about what KS is, and how it's caused.

This is information from a British doctor:

"An unduly pessimistic description of what it

means to have an extra X or Y chromosome is

frequently given to the parents of an affected

fetus or child by geneticists and paediatricians

because the source of their information has

been biased towards abnormality..."

Dr Shirley Ratcliffe

"Long term outcome in children of sex chromosome abnormalities"

I'd like to influence Patient UK to update it's information about KS, to make it more appropriate and representing the truth. I think truth is important.

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted