IIH in Child advise

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi Everyone,

I am new to all of this, I was hoping for some advise. My 9 year old has been diagnosed with IIH. The diagnoses was confirmed by a MRI recently. 

The headaches just come and go. Sometimes she is having headaches everyday. We dont seem to be able to find a trigger. So far we have seen a peadiatrican. They are suggesting the next step of a lumbar puncture. I am concerned putting my 9 year old through this. Should I get another opinion ? Should we see a neurologist?  What medication should I use?

We have been advised to take Q10, B2 and nurofen. 

Could anyone offer my some information please. 

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi Michelle sorry to hear that. We are new to this as well. Our daughter is 15 and had headaches of differing pain scale for 6 months. She has had two MRI scans which were clear. Currently she is on amitripallen and gabapentan.She is off school currently because her head is so sore.I hope you can get some answers soon.

Craig

• Posted

Sorry to hear that michelle , i'm 18 year old and i have the IIH as well.  I've been through this for about 6 months and i'm waiting for my next appointment for the lumbar puncture. I read a lot about the lumbar puncture before scheduling my appointment and to find why it's important and how it's related to the IIH .I found that is really important! They will now from the lumbar puncture how the pressure is strong and several things. My doctor told me not to take medication before taking the lumbar puncture. I recommend you to take an appointment with a professional doctor and ask her several questions about the Lumbar puncture.

• Posted

I am 35 years old and have had IH for 2 1/2 years. It is exhausting dealing with the pain, medications, doctors appointments, etc. I'm sorry your baby is dealing with this.