Lansoprazole and haitus hernia

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi all, 

I’m new to this but really need some advice. I’ve suffered from sever acid reflux with sickness since November and ended up in A&E as I started to vomit blood. It seemed to improve a little then 3 weeks ago it came back worse and I’ve been signed off work since. 

I had an endoscopy last weekend and they found a polyp in my oesophagus and a hiatus hernia and Imflmation and weakness to to stomach lining. They have put me on 30mg Lansoprazole twice per day so 60mg per day to repair the lining and reduce the acid for 6 weeks with the aim to reduce to 30mg after this time.

The problem is I’m a teacher and I’ve been on half term this week and need to make a decision if I’m going back on Monday by tomorrow. Since yesterday afternoon I’ve been experiencing diarrhoea every time I eat or drink and I’m still having bad pain in my stomach. I know these maybe side effects to the Lansoprazole and was wandering if anyone can advise me if these side effects subsided and how long it took. 

As well as working I have 3 children one of which had significant health problems herself. This is having a huge impact on my life as it’s not unusual for me to be constantly vomiting most mornings and in constant pain. I’m starting to feel really low, my dr has offered anti depressants but I really don’t want to get into a vicious cycle. 

Thanks in advance. 

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Could you get in contact with the foctof that prescribed you the medication and ask if you. Could try s different PPI medication there are different ones it's finding what suits you best I'm a lot like you I sldk have a daughter with health issues and it makes matters worse 

• Posted