New ground for me

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi all, I found your discussion forum whilst searching for alternative treatment / diet recommendations, Polycythaemia Vera is a condition I have been diagnosed with (4 weeks ago) so Im new to this. Ive found lots of info online and on your discussions, so far Ive had one treatment (blood removal) and been prescribed a chemotherapy drug, the treatment was given on the same day as diagnoses as I was leaving the next day to embark on a 3 week overseas holiday (great timing) so far I haven't taken the drug, I don't usually use medication casually and the word chemotherapy scared the daylights out of me! I have another treatment planned in 5 days. I hope to be able to discuss the condition with my haematologist in greater depth on my second appointment as Ive now had time to do a little research and gained a little education. My first appointment bombarded me with information which was clouded in a haze of bewilderment.

I was wondering if anyone here is treating this condition without chemotherapy drugs? and if anyone knew what the purpose and benefits or negatives of a chemotherapy drug is as this was not explained to me.

Thanks for reading :-)

0 likes, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Lilian,

I was diagnosed in 2006 with PV an the only treatment I receive is Phlebotomys every 8 weeks an I take a daily Asprin.  I’m JAK 2 negative, Every Hematologist seems to treat this condition differently, my HCT an HGB have never seemed to stabilize.  My HCT will run from  as low as 43 at times to as high as 51. HGB as low as 14 an as high as 17. My hematologist has never mentioned taking a chemotherpy drug yet, I hope this helps answer your question, I’m sure some others in the forum will answer also. . . . . . Take Care smile

• Posted

Hello lilian,

You don’t say how old you are (though I’m guessing you were born in 1956 so you are 62ish).