Relapse after return to work

Posted , 3 users are following.

Am so frustrated - I thought I had recovered from Covid 19 as last week I was getting back to normal so returned to work yesterday after almost 3 weeks. Am a carer in a care home - after about 3 hours my chest started to tighten then all day I was on and off with breathing problems which the mask wouldn't have helped. I had to keep popping outside to get some fresh air. Recovered abit after resting thru lunch break but by end of shift I couldn't get my breathing under control and I now feel terrible and have stayed off today. Feel I am letting them down and guilty as when I am at home pottering around I am fine. When will this all end? Has anyone else had this prolonged problem?

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Edited

Hi Amanda, I have had similar problems. I am a midwife and had 3 weeks off with the virus whilst the coughing was at its worst and I felt like death warmed up. I am now 3 weeks back to work and I get very tired and achey and need a nap in the day like a 2 year old!!! I think you need to take more time and you will be no good if you get ill again. I am almost 66 and working only 2 days a week now as retiring in Oct, but even 2 days is making me shattered. Good luck and look after yourself. Don't feel like you are letting them down - I wish I had taken more time - we as carers are conditioned to try to get back to work asap, but with this virus it takes a long time. I still get short of breath on exertion after 6 weeks

Care for the carers or we cannot care for others.

Jenny x

• Edited

Thanks for that Jenny. As you say we feel we should be working and it's difficult to deal with having to have more time off. I haven't even felt like getting out of bed today. I hope you feel better soon too - take care xxx

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!