Sarcoidosis Research Project

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello everybody my name is Kevin and I am a respiratory therapy student doing a project on sarcoidosis. Part of my project requires me to interact with real patients to find out what the day to day struggles of this disease are like. My goal is to understand this disease better so I can provide better care as a respiratory therapist.  What needs do you now have that you didn't prior to being diagnosed and how has the healthcare system addressed those needs? Have all your needs been met? What are some ways you have coped with this disease?

Thank you in advance for any assistance you may provide me.   

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi Kevin.

I would be happy to help you. So far I have an empirical diagnosis of sarcoidosis. I'm waiting for a biopsy to confirm.

In retrospect I have clearly had it chronically for years but just didn't know that all my disparate symptoms were linked. It has been identified now by an astute ophthalmologist following a massive flare. He started me on a course of oral prednisolone and has referred my to the respiratory team.

My main difficulties are pain, extreme fatigue and loss of mobility due to breathing difficulty. I have good days and bad days.

I am self employed so have been able to reduce my workload to cope but obviously that has had a major financial effect.

My family has been really supportive.

I have found that there is a lack of knowledge about sarcoidosis in the medical profession although my GP has been extremely kind and caring and is really going the extra mile to help me get the investigations I need.

I have joined this group and also the Sarcoidosis UK group and have found them helpful.

Is there anything else I can add to help you?

Mairie

• Posted