3 weeks on fluoxetine

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi its my first time posting here. I've been on fluoxetine for 3 weeks today and I'm really struggling with crippling anxiety. Please tell me this will pass as I feel like it's ruining my life. I've read that alot of people feel tired but I'm the complete opposite, like I've taken some sort of stimulant. I used to take fluoxetine for several years but foolishly stopped as I was feeling really well. I had about a 6 month break and then totally hit rock bottom when I broke up with my partner. I suffered a brain haemorrhage 4 years ago which caused a stroke so I'm disabled and unable to work. Since starting this medication again I feel ramped up and like I can't relax. I'm on lorazipam 0.5mg twice a day but the doctor wants me to come off it as its addictive but I don't know how I'm going to cope without it. I know my doctor talked about increasing the dose in a couple of weeks but if I'm still feeling the same I don't think I'll be able to cope if the side effects get worse. Please tell me this feeling will pass, I feel desperate

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Stevie sorry to hear you're struggling. I am going into week 4 so not that far ahead of you. I have noticed my anxiety is greater especially in a morning. I have read this will pass soon. I just rush around with work to make it pass quicker. I know you don't have that luxury. Are you able to do any form of strenuous exercise to shake off the anxiety? I'm not sure of your situation with your disability.

• Posted

Hi Joanne thank you so much for replying. No I'm not able to do any strenuous exercise, I'm having an operation on my leg next week aswell so I will be in a plaster cast for 6 weeks which will mean I'm able to do even less. I'm finding the anxiety is lasting all day and I don't feel any better until the evening. My doctor isn't much help either and makes me feel like these side effects are all in my head - I wish they were.

• Posted