6 month old with HFMD

Posted , 3 users are following.

In September my son developed small blisters on one of feet and the odd spot/blister on the same leg and a few on his chest and side. GP said it was HFMD and that it would clear up in 7-10 days, after 2 weeks it was still there and getting worse, saw another GP and was told the same again. A further 3 weeks later and he’s still no better and saw the GO again to be told it’s clearing up and will go within 10 days. 2 months after the first signs of HFMD it finally cleared up and the blisters were all gone. After 1 week of it clearing up it is back and worse than before! How can it come back so soon, it’s really sore and painful and I feel if I go back to see the GP I will be be told the same things all over again. Lost at what to do now! 

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

I am not a medical professional, but it doesn’t sound to me like HFMD. I would get a second opinion.  It took a while for my son’s blisters to fade, but they didn’t keep coming back. I was told that a person/child cannot catch the same strand of the virus again. Good luck!
    • Posted

Thank you, I’m going to get him booked in to the doctors again. He’s been in terrible pain on and off today if he knocks his foot or if I touch it. I’ll see what they say this time round.
  • Posted

Usually, this disease or virus begin in mouth, foot and hands and then spread all over the body.. So i don't think they given you the right diagnosis, but i'm not a doctor.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!