Burning pain 10-15 minutes after drinking water

Posted , 4 users are following.

Has anyone experienced burning pain after drinking water? The biggest pain is completely reproducible. If I drink a glass of water, the pain will start about 10 minutes later. And will be extremely bad 15-20 minutes after drinking the water. It is in my right flank, just below the rib in my back.

I feel like I have been being tortured for the last 2 years, except for January - June where it took a break. I also get more variable pain, all near the lowest ribs. Front right, both sides, both flanks. It wakes me up during the night, by 5 am I can't fall back to sleep. I drink a glass of water in the morning, and begins burning badly. I have breakfast, and it is much worse. 2-3 hours after drinking or eating the pain will go away on a good day. But will return at night without food.

I am told it isn't gallbladder because a HIDA scan was normal. I have been told it isn't ulcers because a blood bacteria test was normal. I have been told it isn't kidney, because a urine test only showed low amounts of bacteria.

I have been waiting months to see a gastroenterologist, and I need to wait another 3 months. It would be really helpful to know why I was in pain, so I could modify my diet appropriately, while I am being tortured.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi, How are you ?

Your symptoms more sounds like duodenal ulcer to me as I am suffering from it too. Have you done any endoscopy yet ?

• Posted

Hi! i have same symptoms exactly. Its been awhile since you last replied on this post. how are your symptoms these days?

I'm John by the way.🙂

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!