Digestive side effects of citalopram.

Posted , 18 users are following.

Has anyone else experienced bloating and indigestion on Citalopram, even after long term use?

2 likes, 35 replies

35 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Iv now been on Amitriptyline & atenolol for a number of weeks now although I'm unsure if they are actually working as I still feel anxious maybe not as bad as I was but trying to convince myself that I'm fine as the Gp's have said is still difficult, even worrying about the stomach acid is very difficult as it's something that I've never had.
  • Posted

Hi Bill

Your symptoms must be quite severe, to need those drugs so I think you will need to sticj with it ---but I'm not a doctor.

• Posted

Hi, I have been on Citalipram for 2 years after a near death car accident,

I have started having serve abdominal pain.

Is this ok? my doctor said it wouldn't have anything to do with it, but i am not convinced.

I have been for blood tests etc and everything is fine.

Dont know what to do.

• Posted

Hi, I have just weaned myself off 40mg citalopram after taking them for nine years due to the effects of chemo. I have done this very gradually over about 15 weeks and am now three weeks clear of taking them. Since stopping them completely I have noticed two things, firstly I have a reduced appetite and feel really bloated most of the time, secondly and which is creating me more concern is my emotions, I well up with tears at the slightest thing and feel as tho if I start crying I just won't stop, has anyone else experienced this?
    • Posted

Hi angi,

I have been on citalipram for 10 months and slowly coming off onto something new as like you I feel bloated all of the time rolleyes

• Posted