Hyperthyroidism Graves' disease flying

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi I'm desperately wanting some advise, my gf has been diagnosed with hyperthyroidism her levels are

T3 are 27.8

T4 are 50.9

I have booked a holiday abroad, is she ok to fly? Has anyone flown with these results

Thankyou

Very much appreciated

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello Ice:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA. I have Hypothyroidism.

When you have Hyperthyroidism you may feel symptoms of Nervousness,  you lose weight despite eating, sweating, feeling HOT, feeling anxiety or panic attacks, buldging eyes, fast heart rate or pulse. Heart attacks can happen in people with Hyperthyroidism due to a racing heart rate.

When levels in the body are off of normal and you go traveling it may be a huge problem. If she needs medical care in another country it may be hard to get since you would not have coverage either via insurance or NHS. If something were to happen on an airplane, they have very little on board to help.

So I would cancel the trip for now, and plan for a time after she has been seen by a doctor and he or she certifies she is allowed to travel.

Please have a doctor certify her for travel, and wear a med alert bracelet saying she has Hyperthyroidism.

Regards,

Shelly

• Posted

Hello Ice20000, 

back in March I was in a similar situation. Our holiday was booked and I was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism. I think my T4 was around 60.

After taking Carbimazole for around 2 weeks my state improved slightly and I decided to go ahead with the holiday (, btw I informed my GP).