I’m new to tm and I’m scared witless to move, eat shower or do anything . I’m so scared of the pain

Posted , 16 users are following.

will i ever be able to function normally, i feel as if ive lost my life. on day 2 of carbamazepine.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Yes you will. I have suffered TN for the last 20 years. Carbamazepine will kick in and reduce the pain.

You must eat no matter the intensity of the pain. Have some soup or something that you do not need to chew.

At present I am going through a very pain episode but I know it will end sooner or later. So will you yours.

• Posted

thanks arun, ill try not to give into it. hope your flare up eases soon

• Posted

it's frightening feeling isn't it but don't lose hope, it may take a while to get the right dose for you, it may be that another drug will suit you better but we're all different. At least you are on the right path and you will find how best to manage it. Best wishes to you, Heather

• Posted

thanks heather, i cant believe how things have gone so downhill in a week. i was getting shooting pains in my upper face for a while and though they were sinus related but last week the electric shock type kicked in and they make me howl theyre so bad., up over my nose eye and front and top of head. pray the carbamazirine kicks in quickly.

• Posted

Good morning Rosieb4u, I'v had TN since 2011, I'v tried it all but surgery, I might suggest oxcarbazepine, it has less side effects than the carbazepine, it helps me the most, I have the shocks in left side of tongue, then pain goes under teeth on that side, I also have a numbing med. That I use, its calms it down and help me eat, also 3 yrs ago I tried CBD oil subl. and its helped, I only take oxcarbazepine as needed. The numbing med has really helped. Wishing you the best, I will give you name of numbing mouthwash and CBD if you need. Hope your day is better!

• Posted