IS EDEMA A SIDE EFFECT OF ANGINA?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I'm Ricardo and I'm a student at the Universidad del Valle de México and I'm studying medicine. I would like to know if edema is a side effect of angina and also because that edema appears.

I read an article about that but I did not understand, I would like someone to help me, please. it's for a homework.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Edited

Hi Ricardo,

Edema usually occurs as a sign of a heart problem such as heart failure or dysfunction. Edema is not a side effect of angina, nor is it a symptom of angina. Edema can however develop as a side effect of certain angina medications such as calcium channel blockers.

It is important to distinguish the difference between a symptom, a sign and a side effect;

A symptom is any subjective evidence of disease. Anxiety, angina, back pain, and fatigue are all symptoms; only the patient can perceive them.

Swelling (edema) is a sign; it is apparent to the patient, physician, and others. It can be seen.

A side effect is an effect, whether therapeutic or adverse, that is secondary to the one intended; although the term is predominantly employed to describe adverse effects, it can also apply to beneficial, but unintended, consequences of the use of a drug.

There are different types of edema. As mentioned edema can be a symptom of heart failure or dysfunction. When your heart doesn't work as well, blood flow slows and backs up in the veins. Eventually this causes fluid to build up in your tissues. You may have swelling in your stomach or notice some weight gain, you may have swelling in your legs, feet or ankles. One can also experience pulmonary edema due to a heart problem thus causing breathing difficulty.