New Dr lowered levo. HELP

Posted , 5 users are following.

I've been on 300 mcg Levothyroxine for several years. Was still hypo until I was given Adderall 40 mg day. Except for PTSD was fine. Old Doc retired and new Doc is freaked because my TSH is almost undetectable, T3 and T4 high side of normal. She lowered it to 250mcg and I'm in a tailspin in less than a month. Crying, shaking, cramps in my feet, leg tremors, etc. ANXIETY out of control. Please, please help.

0 likes, 44 replies

44 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello Brun:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease since 1987.

300mcg of Levo is a huge dose.  Most people take 75mcg to 125mcg. If your TSH is "undetectable" as you say, then you are in the Hyper zone.  0.45 to 4.50 is normal range and if you are at 0.00 or so, you are in a danger area.

Too much thyroxine (LEVO) can cause a heart attack and cause palpitations. It is dangerous to your health and your liver at a very high dose!

I think you are not processing Levo well until they raised the dose so high.  Your T3 and T4 should not be on the high edge of normal. 

There are other thyroid meds that work better.  I myself had to go off Levo many of years ago as I was not getting well on it. 

Here  are the names of many other meds for the thyroid: Liothyronine (Cytomel) is just T3.  Armour Thyroid  is made from a pig's gland. Thyroid S and Thyroid W, Thyroid Gold,  are natural thyroid meds also made from a pig's gland. Liotrix (Thyrolar - is a T3 and T4 combo).

Hyper symptoms are happening in you such as anxiety, leg cramps and shaking, tremors, & crying.   I understand they lowered it, but these all fit with overmedicated or too much thyroxine.

Hyper symptoms are: feeling HOT, insomnia, anxiety, huge weight loss,  tremors, sweating, jittery, nervousness, panic attacks, fast heart rate, palpitations, headaches....etc.