Perimenopause experience and thanks for how this forum helps me.

Posted , 6 users are following.

I am a self-confessed hypochondriac, have been for life.

I have clung to forums such as this, for a lifeline in my darkest moments and thank you, to all of you whose comments have got me through.

Forgive me this post will be long and I mean llllllloooooooonnnnnnnggggggg.

BUT, one of the worst aspects of the perimenopause for me has been the sheer terror of an increasing number of symptoms – some in themselves debilitating, coupled with my fluctuating belief that I am terminally ill because until finding shared experiences, I had no point of reference.

If one person reads this and it fits and it stops them from living in hell, then that’s a win. Saying that I am not a doctor, and whilst my experience may mirror some or all of your symptoms you do still need to get confirmation that what you are feeling is as a result of being perimenopausal. I am only writing this post after having tests to confirm that I am perimenopausal and tests that ruled out other nasties.

I am 50, this has been going on for probably for the last 4 years, but only recently have I joined the dots! That’s maybe because it started slowly, I was just getting an increasing number of symptoms in the week leading up to have a period and steadily the lead up period extended and then spread to after a period until eventually I were was to single figures of symptom free days and then even they abandoned me.

Mother Nature or whoever is in charge decided to open the flood gate!!

I know the perimenopause is dire, I really do and I am in no way trying to dimmish the impact but the following is written with a degree of humour as despite all of this crap humour is a bit of me that I retain and recognise and I will not let this stage of my life steal that as well.