Suggestion on post umbilical hernia repair

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi there, I got my umbilical hernia repaired on 25/06/16 ( which I had for nearly 6 yrs ) with mesh. I should be resting for few weeks & after that life goes normal.

Now the things is that I am a courier by profession which require lots of lifting. Is this gonna effect my job or if I do this job what are the chances of this coming back ??? Worried as I m the only bread & butter for the family

Regards

1 like, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

I think you should ask your doctors advice.   Doesn't sound ideal doing a lot of heavy lifting.  Hope you recover well.

• Posted

It's a good idea to take it easy for the next couple of weeks. If it takes about six months for the mesh to be completely buried by tissue,( compleately healed) you can kind of guess where your healing might be. I'm no doctor, but I've had an umbilical hernia, and an inguinal hernia. fortunately the umbilical hernia repair, didn't seem to be so debilitating. You've only had that repair for a couple of days, I'd be careful and aware of it for at least a month. Be aware of what movements tighten up your abs, and act accordingly. Follow the doctor who repaired it.s advice. He or she knows exactly how bad it was.  Good luck

• Posted

Thanks for your reply & advice ctrix, do you think I should complete rest for sometime & start working... Or give me advice on this if I rest for 2-3 weeks & then I just drive ( sprinter van ) & take another guy for loading unloading, then I would be driving for 7-8 hours ( will this be too much )

Sorry to ask this silly things mate but have to run my family

Cheers

• Posted