Weird Shingles symptoms

Posted , 22 users are following.

I was dx with Shingles last week. Rash on my left buttocks. But prior to that I had severe joint pain on my hands, knees and elbows. They put me on prednisone thinking maybe it was RA. Then after the prednisone I developed the rash. They put me on valtrex, neurontin, and norco. The weird thing is i have tingling in my left ankle on my achilles tendon region, my left ringer finger and pinky. Is it possible this is from the shingles and is the nerve irritation? I have googled until I am blue in the face and all it says is you get tingling where the rash is and that's all. Also, since being on the valtrex my joint pain has gotten better and so has my rash. I've been on valtrex for 4 days 3 gms a day. Also I am exhausted and all over body aches. Any insite to this would be greatly helpful. I am an ER nurse so I understand the disease but not these weird symptoms and my PCP doesn't seem to think it's related, but I can't help but think it is. Sorry for the lengthy post. And thank you in advance for help :-)

4 likes, 40 replies

40 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Christine,

I have found that in the past when I have had Shingles I get tingling all over the place, then the rash would appear on my right buttock and down my right leg. So yes I think it is nerve pain. Sometimes in my head at one side would tingle but never got a rash there. Good luck hope you soon feel better. xxx

• Posted

Thank you SO much for your reply. It makes me feel so much better knowing I am not going crazy! The tingling is always there just sometimes more intense. I am hoping that the neurontin will eventually stop it. Thank you again!
  • Posted