Weird Shingles symptoms

Posted , 22 users are following.

I was dx with Shingles last week. Rash on my left buttocks. But prior to that I had severe joint pain on my hands, knees and elbows. They put me on prednisone thinking maybe it was RA. Then after the prednisone I developed the rash. They put me on valtrex, neurontin, and norco. The weird thing is i have tingling in my left ankle on my achilles tendon region, my left ringer finger and pinky. Is it possible this is from the shingles and is the nerve irritation? I have googled until I am blue in the face and all it says is you get tingling where the rash is and that's all. Also, since being on the valtrex my joint pain has gotten better and so has my rash. I've been on valtrex for 4 days 3 gms a day. Also I am exhausted and all over body aches. Any insite to this would be greatly helpful. I am an ER nurse so I understand the disease but not these weird symptoms and my PCP doesn't seem to think it's related, but I can't help but think it is. Sorry for the lengthy post. And thank you in advance for help :-)

4 likes, 40 replies

40 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi Everyone I also suffer from reoccurring shingles. I have dealt with these break outs for four years now. Always on my right thigh anywhere from my bottom to knee. I feel like I have the flu for two wks before break out then about thirty days from then. I tingle every where, I don't like to be touched and it seems like I itch every where. On top of that my left jaw and sinus cavity hurts. I have broke out cleared up and two to three weeks later do it all over again. Then sometimes I can go three months. I blessed with a great husband he is so understanding when this happens. Take meds work okay but doesn't stop it. So for being so winded, it is so hard to find someone to understand what I go through.
    • Posted

Dear JMAC,