What do you do to get the mucus up and out?

Posted , 13 users are following.

I am new to this disease and I'm really struggling to get good information. My pulmonologist is not that great at explaining this whole thing. He does not volunteer a lot of information and I don't really know yet what questions to ask.

So he's got me on a nebulizer but I only use albuterol in it. I also use a steroid inhaler because I have asthma. And since I have the worst luck I have a broken vertebrae in my back and I'm experiencing a great deal of back pain so my husband cannot pound on my chest and back to try to help me get it all up. I purchased a flutter device and was even shown how to use it but it doesn't help me at all. I don't know if I'm even using it long enough and maybe that's my problem. I've had 2 infections in as many months and that's frustrating to me. The doctor has puts me on two weeks of amoxicillin and clavulanate potassium both times. And each time it does clear up the infection or at least the symptoms of the infection. I know infections are a problem with this disease but does this seem like a lot or is this normal? And what things can I do to help me get this mucus up and out?

0 likes, 31 replies

31 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I wish you could edit your comments on here... I forgot to mention that I live in the US and that I am a 56 year old female.
  • Posted

Hi there

Do you take mucodyne or hypertonic saline? These both help to shift the mucus. Are you sending off sputum samples each time you get an infection to see what bugs you are growing? My advice is if you are not getting the help you need change your doctor/nurse/consultant. If you have pains in your lungs you most prob still got an infection and if you are poorly you may need IVS (intravenous anti biotics) Once you get bronchiectasis under control you can lead a good active life. I have had BX mostof my life and I'm now 50. But I have a great chest consultant and nurse.

Hope this helps

Rachel