What do you do to get the mucus up and out?

Posted , 13 users are following.

I am new to this disease and I'm really struggling to get good information. My pulmonologist is not that great at explaining this whole thing. He does not volunteer a lot of information and I don't really know yet what questions to ask.

So he's got me on a nebulizer but I only use albuterol in it. I also use a steroid inhaler because I have asthma. And since I have the worst luck I have a broken vertebrae in my back and I'm experiencing a great deal of back pain so my husband cannot pound on my chest and back to try to help me get it all up. I purchased a flutter device and was even shown how to use it but it doesn't help me at all. I don't know if I'm even using it long enough and maybe that's my problem. I've had 2 infections in as many months and that's frustrating to me. The doctor has puts me on two weeks of amoxicillin and clavulanate potassium both times. And each time it does clear up the infection or at least the symptoms of the infection. I know infections are a problem with this disease but does this seem like a lot or is this normal? And what things can I do to help me get this mucus up and out?

0 likes, 31 replies

31 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I do breathing exercises every day and "huff" the mucus out. When I was a child my parents used to pat my back and sides to loosen it but I have managed to get rid of the stuff without their help for the last 50 years. If you Google breathing exercises to expel mucus for bronchiectasis patients there are lots of handy websites. The thing is you have to do them every day. Sometimes, not being a saint, I miss a day but I always suffer for it. Don't despair, it's early days yet. You will always get infections but if you look after your general health you should get fewer.

• Posted

Hiya,