What's contributed to us being sick?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Some people say that if we find out what made us ill in the first place we can eliminate those things and have a better chance of getting well.

One thing that may have contributed to my having ME/CFS is that I lived in a flat that was old, damp and mouldy. The landlord didn't maintain the building very well. The water contained slime when I saw it in a water filter so I think sick building syndrome may be one of the triggers of my ME. I've since moved to healthier surroundings and have had some improvements in certain symptoms.

There are other things that I suspect too. What do you think may have contributed to your illness?

3 likes, 56 replies

56 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello GeorgiaS.. Glad you are in a better place now, your previous flat sounded dreadful.

My illness was contributed from when I worked as a Care Assistant 20 years ago. I used to work 3 nights a week, on 15 hour shifts on my own in charge of 11 Residents. I were assisting an elderly gent up the stairs one evening and he slipped on the treads, 4 from the top. I had no choice, as I were on my own to struggle and lift him up to the landing and lean him against the wall so that he was safer. I then had to run through the building to the Owners house next door, to get him to come and help the man into a wheelchair. At that time I were so concerned of his safety, I did not notice the pain I were in till later in the night. As the night went on, the pain got worse and worse. Next morning I went to Dr and got sent immediatly to the local hospital for a cortizone injection in my back. Phew, it was a relief at the time, but eversince then I have suffered and tht, I am sure is where my Fibro stemmed from. Have a good daybiggrin

• Posted

Thanks for sharing Annie, It's shocking that you had to deal with 11 residents on your own! I hope that's not allowed today, though changes in the health care system can't help you now.