(19F) Hair loss of scalp hair, eyebrows and eyelashes

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi,

I'm a 19 year old student and ever since November of last year (2018) my hair started falling out more, subsiding a bit after like a month or so and now over the last month and a bit my hair has been thinning considerably. I used to have thick hair and now it is very fine - I am extremely scared that soon it will become noticeable or that I will end up bold seeing on how long it has lasted thus far. I got really stressed over university work in October, and then had a house move so I'm guessing it correlates, especially as my GP visits and blood tests (came back clear) have ruled out other causes (interesting given that I have not had my period for more than 2 years as well).

This situation feels impossible, even more so because my dandruff came back (before I used Head & Shoulders for them and it always calmed down the dandruff but with experimenting with hair loss shampoos it came back) and I feel horrible: the self-esteem is at an all time low and I have no motivation for anything anymore.

I'm taking biotin / fish oil supplements, trying to use new techniques to liven up my dead hair and trying to remain optimistic and positive however that is proving extremely hard. I'm also trying to eat more as my diet before was around 1500 - 1800 on any given day with a lower BMI and cut out exercise to allow my body to maybe rest and heal itself. I looked at dermatologists or other clinics seeing as my GP effectively said to wait it out, but the prices for consultations are sky high!

I'm scared to tie up my hair, wash it or brush it for fear of more falling out... the situation is also stressful for me as I am signed up to do a summer job abroad for three months and feel lost.

Any help or advice would be massively appreciated!

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted