.#8718Jill

Posted , 5 users are following.

My question is having a revisonal knee surgery 4 months ago why does the rod in my knee bug me. Plus I cant sleep. They say it takes a year to feel better is this true.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I had a revision done some 4 years ago and have suffered chronic lower leg pain ever since. All scans show everything is within normal parameters but the consultant thinks its end of stem pain and plans on breaking the Tibia bone and placing a steel plate onto this in order to stem ( pun intended ) the pain..... It's a trial and error job really, he's performed it once before and that was successful so your issue may well be similar.

• Posted

Thank you for responding. How do you sleep I dont get much sleep at all. I have good days and bad days. Do you still have alot of swelling. I haven been able to go back to work because of the restrictions I work in retail and stand most the time and climb ladders.

• Posted

Swelling wise isn't as bad now as it was two years ago when stationary, but it does swell up whilst moving about albeit the times I do get out and about are few and far between.

As for night time some are better than others, and one just adapts to the situation.

For me its been a long haul. I also ruptured my Extensor Mechanism and the recovery from that was far worse.

What does your consultant say about this?

• Edited

i had revision surgery 5 months ago and i have rods both above and below the knee and im not aware of them.

• Edited

I hope and pray I will be able to say exactly what you are saying.....

• Posted

Hi Martha,