"I do not prescribe narcotics." Dr. K

Posted , 4 users are following.

My father moved in with me in VT from NJ and recently started with a new doctor. He had been taking Hydrocodone 10mg tablets for pain for a number of years but he rarely took it (only taking it when in extreme pain) so a month's Rx would last him 3 or 4. When he asking about getting the Rx refilled, the doctor replied, "I do not prescribe narcotics."

How is this blanket statement okay in the mind of ANY DOCTOR!?

Get a job at McD's because you don't deserve what you are being paid to NOT DO your current job!

There are nights I can here my dad sobbing/crying in his room because the pain is so bad. I am appalled that any PCP would think it was ethical to "NOT prescribe narcotics" and am asking if there are any doctors out there that could help me to understand how this practice (or lack of) could be deemed ethical?

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

I am a pain management doctor, retired, and when the opioid epidemic happened a lot of primary care doctors realized that they just hadn't gotten the specialized training that we had gotten in pain medicine that allowed us to be comfortable when we prescribed narcotics. They felt very guilty about the epidemic and no longer wanted to prescribe them and decided to have all their patients who needed them go to pain management docs. Your Dad should have been referred to one, you don't just say no and not refer. That was the mistake. But, it is very common now for primary care docs to not write for narcotics. They merely realized that it is a lot more complicated to deal with chronic pain patients than they previously thought. That doctor is trying to avoid being responsible for overdose deaths. I know your Dad wouldn't do that, but that doctor made that decision in his heart. I would go back and ask for a pain doc referral.

• Posted