1 week in on 37.5 Effexor anxiety spike and head aches

Posted , 4 users are following.

hey im new to this medicine and am on it for anxiety, i was wondering of the increase in my anxiety is normal? ive had two pretty decent panic attacks since starting it and just overall weird feeling in my head? ive tried a pile of ssris with almost no relief from them so the dr has me trying this medicine and ive heard alot of people have had success on it so i want to stick it out if the increase of anxiety goes down.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

They do say you are likely to feel worse before you feel better. The medication takes a while to settle in the system and the dose you are on is presently a low one to start with. I take 150 mg to manage depression, anxiety and chronic pain. I have been taking this medication for 2 years now and has given me a better quality of life. I take the extended release tablet. Even now I can feel in my head when the medication is taking effect. Its not a great feeling and lasts for some hours, but what I have found that for me once having had my tablet at breakfast it is better to move around so the medication is circulated around my body. This way I dont feel the effects in my head so much. I know its not easy but try and hang in there. Keep in touch with your doctor also.

• Posted

Hi Cody,

i was on this medication for about 10 years for anxiety. Venlafaxine has a really short half life so you are best of taking the modified / slow release version which I think is only available in 75mg or more. This will avoid the spikes in mood and anxiety. Alternatively you can take half a tablet in the morning and half in the afternoon. I would give it at least two or three weeks before you up your dose.

Ed

• Posted