10 days postop

Posted , 8 users are following.

Had cataract surgery on right eye and the Symfony lens implanted. I work in a medical lab and the lights are very bright. My left eye is having a hard time keeping up with the new eye. My eyes feel really strained. I put sunglasses on and it seems to help. Has anyone else had this problem? I am supposed to have the same thing done to the left eye on Feb 13th

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Yes. I had my right eye done on November 18th and my left eye done on December 5th. It does get better. I feel a little more normal everyday. Sunglasses are wonderful to help in bright light.

I am a merchandiser and spend my days going into grocery stores. The fluorescents were horrible the first several weeks. I am also a full time student and spend a large amount of time reading and on a computer. The feeling of eye strain also improves over time.

• Posted

This is a common issue after cataract surgery with any IOL, most people find the world quite a bit brighter. The clouded cataract lens reduced the light entering your eye compared to a clear natural lens, or an IOL. Your visual system adapted to having less light and it will take a while to adapt back, though that varies with the person. I had to turn down the brightness all the way on my computer monitors for a number of weeks (and then I never noticed a need to turn it up, merely that it was ok to do so). I never felt a need for sunglasses indoors, but everyone's sensitivity differs.

For me the light sensitivity noticeably reduced after the first week, though the world continued to seem brighter in a  good way.  Oddly the brightness from headlights at night seemed less bothersome than they used to before surger,  less glare,  even when I was still a bit light sensitive.