10 wpo after tkr

Posted , 4 users are following.

Clif4

16 hrs ago

Question, I am 9 wpo of left tkr. I am also 43 yo female and by day three was at zero degree flat and 110 degrees, off to a wonderful start. At my four week post op, I graduated from pt had met all my goals just told to keep up with exercises. Here's my question...at this point I feel like I'm at a plateau started out so good now if I try doing anything ankle swells up and gets numb. The pain in foot ankle and shin get pretty bad especially at night. Also, my thigh burns horribly and dr said was from tourniquet and also, my inner thigh/groin area burn/gnawing pain. Knee feels great, it's all this other stuff. Also, my bp has even been high since I got out of recovery. I am now on to bp meds as well. Does anybody have any advice...I honestly feel like I'm losing my mibd...don't know how nine weeks out and still feel horrible.

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

TKR is a very long recovery for most people. Many people in my family have had them, and I'll be on my way there in my future. The burning muscle I would think is just from over use. My dad has TKR and I remember it took him almost a year to get to where he felt "normal." There are many ways to go about PT. His particular theorapast told him your body will heal itself, listen to it. If you do something and it hurts, or your knee swells later, try again in a week or two. TKRs are very traumatic to your body. Hang in, sometimes it's just feels like it takes FOREVER. I doubt your having complications, as they would be very bad by now if you were. However I'm not a dr, so any worry should be seen by someone qualified

• Posted

You also have to remember that your knee takes the least abuse. Because they take it out and replace it with something that isn't alive. The bones, tendons, and soft tissue take a pounding during the surgery, and your body responds to that. 

• Posted