13 cm ovarian cyst

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was recently told I have an ovarian cyst 13 cm with some tumor markers. While they think there is little chance of cancer I am going in to do blood work just to rule it out. Has anyone had a tumor around this size? I was told by the gyno that they would probably try a laparoscopic surgery but there were no guarantees because it was considered rather large. I am 23 so I am concerned about preserving fertility as well as the recovery time for any procedure. I am a teacher and we are about 7 days from testing (these things sure have a strange sense of timing) so I am hoping I could do the procedure over a break and not have to miss work. Anyone with past experience who could share?

3 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Bernadette.

I wouldnt worry that your so close to tests at work. You will be more rhan likely waiting a while before there doing any surgery. Lots of doctors like to monitor it for a while to see if it grows or shrinks. If it is not causing you any pain or discomfort just delay it untill it suits you. I delayed mine but now im in a lot off pain & my app to see my consultant has been cancelled, which means i now have to wait till the end off april. Im sure all your bloods will come back ok. Its highly unlikley they turn into cancer. Do you know what type off cyst you have?. X

• Posted

They suspect cystadenomas. The doctor told me she wants to operate ASAP because it causes some pain and since it's so large it won't go away but I am hoping to schedule after testing.smile I am getting married in June so they want to try to get me in in March in case they can't do it laproscopically so that i will have time to heal. Whether or not that happens... 

• Posted