16 weeks post op, back at work and swelling?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi,

I am about 16 weeks post op (posterior, anterior and vault suspension) and had an unremarkable recovery apart from a small setback when I became allergic to sanitary pads in the early days, and another when my pelvic floor muscles spasmed. Have been seeing a pelvic floor Physio who has helped overcome this and thought I was on track for a straightforward recovery.

My problem/question relates to my return to work. I delayed my return until 13 weeks post op, and had gradually built up to 30-40 minute walks and returned to gentle exercise at the gym the week before. Now that I'm back working I find that I'm not coping with full time. I work as a teacher and spend an inordinate amount of time either sitting on the floor or getting up and down, and standing. The past 2 weekends have been spent pretty much just resting in bed, trying to get more comfortable ready for the next week.

I'm not sure if I've had another small prolapse, or if the dragging feeling and discomfort/pain is from excessive swelling.

I have an appointment with my pelvic floor Physio next week and will find out more then, but since I'm off work today, trying to rest, just wondered if anyone has experienced anything similar or has any wisdom to share smile

Many thanks

2 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi julib,

Sounds like you had a reasonably good recovery.

I had A&P repairs but not a vault suspension.

I was told once you have had repairs only light duties at work and that if I cause any down pressure at all my repairs will fail. While my job is not one of the heaviest it does involve some heavier work and sometimes being on my feet for a number of hours at end of the day who is going to employ someone who has had repeat repair surgery.