17 Year old, with Meniscus Injury.. need advice

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello..

I'm 17 years old (almost 18) I have seemed to tear my meniscus during my intense Karate training sessions.. I have seen a doctor and I'm just waiting for test results to come back but he mentioned that it may need surgery.. what does that mean about Karate? Am I going to have to take the rest of the year off? I can't afford to but if I have to i'm going to have too.. I'm also a University Student needing to go to classes in the city center.. will it affect my chances of studying if I need the surgery?

what is the recovery like?

how long will I not be able to walk for?

Thank you for replying in advance.. 

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Brian,

Be sure to get a second and maybe even a third opinion from other orthopedic surgeons before you chose to have surgery. Explore all options before you decide to have surgery. I am 58 years old and just had a TKR last summer. I tore my meniscus when I was 19 years old. I didn't get a second opinion then prior to the surgery to repair the torn cartilage. I wish had never had that surgery. 40 years later I had no choice but to have a TKR because of the unnecessary and botched surgery at age 19.

• Posted

I don't know what kind of surgery a meniscal tear would need to be honest. All I know is a total knee replacement would mean a lot of pain medications and physical therapy. And I don't know if karate would be good for you or not. Your doctor is the best one to talk to you about all this. Good luck to you.

• Posted

Depends on how bad it is. Doc won't know the extent til he gets a MRI. Even then it won't show everything. Usually they scope them. He will then see how bad it is.

• Posted