1st ever post. Can anyone offer any help? Anxiety/Low Mood/Fear of Panic

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi guys,

My name is Amy and it is my first time posting on a forum like this. I have had various anxiety and panic attack problems since my late teens (i am now 26) and I was doing really well up to the pandemic.

Long story short, since Christmas I have struggled more than ever before and I don't know what to do.

I seem to constantly suffer with derealisation, I feel like I am not me and I am not real and everything is just a dream? The derealisation makes me panic which just makes it worse and over time I have just started to shut myself away. I hid away with the lockdown and now I am struggling to do anything, I am too worried to meet friends because I am barely hold a conversation together and I am always worried about having panic attacks and feeling uncomfortable.

It just feels relentless at this point. I rarely stop thinking about it (I manage to sleep well somehow) and I struggle most in the mornings 😦 The feeling when I wake up every morning is of utter dread, I don't even want to open my eyes.

I see a counsellor but feel like all I do is repeat myself and luckily, I have a great GP who has given me propranolol for when I really need to curb a panic attack. We have spoken about Citalopram and I wonder if anyone has any experience with this???? I was apprehensive to take it for anxiety but now I am suffering a lot with feeling depressed, I wonder whether it might be a good idea.

Any reassurance or advice or anything would be so appreciated. I just feel so rubbish now, it is consuming me and I don't know who I am anymore.

Thank you everyone xxxxx

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted