1st Rheumy Appt Monday - what to expect?

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi there! I'm 42 and my dr ran the RF test with my annual bloodwork because she thought my feet looked 'funny' - and my RF level is 36. My feet ache, but I'm a teacher and thought it was from standing all day. I'm realizing now that some of my aches and pains might be RA related. I'm also anemic and have low vitamin D. My first appt with my rheumatologist is Monday, and I'm worried about what to expect - how to dress (do they do an exam? Should I wear athletic clothes?) Also, will they do X-rays at the first visit!? I'm bringing my husband and plan to take notes - Any insight you can give me with your first visit would help greatly! I think I'm more nervous than anything. Hugs to all of you and thanks for your help! ??????

2 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi, I was diagnosed with RA 15 years ago it involved checking my all my joints, xrays and blood tests, then put on Sulfasalzine, and naproxen when needed, blood tests every 3 months, I have always had low iron, and low salt levels, you could check info on Turmeric/Curcumin for inflammation.
    • Posted

Thank you for the great information! I just made notes about Sulfasalzine & Turmeric/Curcumin... Thanks again!

• Posted

I don't remember too much but I think the Dr checked different joints for pain or swelling.  No X-rays but they did do blood work.  I would wear something easy to undress in case you need to put on a gown.  It is absolutely nothing to worry about.  

• Posted

Thank you for helping to calm my nerves :O) I'm definitely going to wear comfy clothing... Thank you for your help! xxoo

• Posted