1st timer

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all,

Went to urgent care yesterday as I was having extreme abdomen / back pain on my left side. Same thing happened a week prior but it cleared up on its own after a few hours.

Anyhow, doctor suspects diverticula issue. Put me on IV drip of Cipro and some pain med. Now taking Cipro and floxacin. Pain has subsided significantly but still there and occasionally does a brief peak. Hot shower seems to relieve pain. Liquid diet and meds have me feeling weak.

I did have a routine colonoscopy 11 months ago and nothing was reported about diverticula. Is this something that could develop that quickly?

I am also concerned about some of the lengthy recovery times I see reported here. I work as a contractor. If I do not work, I do not get paid. On top of that I have awful Obamacare health insurance ($1600 a month with a $13k deductible before it pays out a dollar). Scary stuff when you have a family to provide for.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

So sorry to hear you are poorly I haven't had antibiotics myself but lots of people on here have and from what I have read they alone can make you feel very poorly, im sure somebody on here will be able to help you, What is Obamacare?

• Posted

I am lucky I live in the U.K. and get free care   I have taken antibiotics and it can take a few weeks for you to get back to normal the antibiotics kill off your good bacteria as well as the bad. A probiotic might help   I always have slight pain in my left side I seam to have got used to it   I don't know if it can happen the quick but you never know. I take paracetamol for the pain also fybergel a probiotic tablet every morning. Good luck I hope you feel better soon 

• Posted