2 days in on mirtazapine. Flipping from crazy manic to sleepy sloth. Advice appreciated.

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello there,

I've just started a months dose of 15 mg of Mirtazapine, and within 30 minutes of taking the dose I became like a crazed hyena. I tried to calm myself down and work on my breathing, this was impossible and went on for a further 3hrs, until the mania knocked me out with exhaustion. Today, I awoke feeling really groggy, lower back cramp. Mouth so dry, my tongue was stuck to the roof. For the rest of the day it's been hard to accomplish anything. I'm worried as I am in my final year of my degree and I don't want to feel like this, as this will be detrimental when studying because of chronic fatigue (this is honestly how I feel). I don't know what to do, the anxiety & depression has me on my knees of late, but at least I could figure out my moods. With these pills I feel terrible. Do these symptoms subside? Anyone who has persisted with mirtazapine (under the same circumstances as me) and found it got better.

I feel hopeless, I just don't want to feel this way anymore.

Thanks for reading xxx

3 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Gemma

I have been on the same meds for 10 days and I haven't experienced those symptoms, so I am unable to advise on that. However, I do know meds take 2-4 weeks to really work, so I suspect your symptoms will calm down within that time period. Try to hang on in there it will get better! I was advised to take my meds at night, I take 30mg Mirtazipine at about 9pm and am ready to sleep by about 11pm, perhaps this may help you? ( unless of course you are taking them at night already?

Kind regards

Michelle

• Posted

Hi Michelle