2 months post op 2nd TKR..... scared something is wrong.

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi All,

So had first TKR left October 2018 first knee is awesome! Feels great! 2nd knee done Jan 2, 2019. I am 2 months post op. Surgeon wants to release me back to work the end of March. I work in a hospital 12 hr shifts 3 days in a row. My appointment for follow-up is March 19th. I called today for an earlier appointment because it feels so unnatural, pushing metal and especially on the side of the knee I feel something circular like the size of a quarter pushing. My bends are good but it's this pain that I'm having that is worrying me. I want and need to go back to work as scheduled but I'm just afraid something is wrong with this knee. Also, my other knee healed so nicely and I didnt have these issues with the first one. I know I shouldnt compare but I kinda am. Anyone with advice or had this as well??

Melissa

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Get it checked out doesnt sound right and you have had one so know what it is like .

• Posted

Hi Jenny, yea I have an appointment Tues. I feel somethings not right too. We will see but at this point I don't think I can do my whole workweek the way it feels now. Im requesting xrays to check it.

• Posted

Hi Melissa, 2 months isnt enough healing time especially if your going to be on your feet on 12 hr shifts at work.The surgeon on the follow up will know what going on with your knee,it may well be healing slower than the first one.Im 3.5 months post op on my second TkR Ive been back at work two weeks now 4x12 hrs then 6 off its different with both knees done,hopefully it will get easier.My second TKR is squelching above the knee as if theres fluid there but its not bothering me and it wasnt there on the first knee TKR just sounds weird when you first stand up .

• Posted