24 years old with possible osteoarthritis.... advice needed

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi Team,

Im new to this thread as im struggling with possible Osteoarthritis at age 24. Please advise with any of your experience or knowledge.

Situation: 24 year old male who and im highly active in surfing, motorcycle racing, softball etc

I had right knee ACL, MCL, PCL, LCL and meniscus surgery in 2008 and right knee ACL surgery in 2012. Now that is has been 10 years since my first surgery im struggling more than ever with my knees. Just last year I was playing softball and surfing and never noticed my knee pain! Currently i struggle to walk or stand without knee pain and a feeling of weakness and my knees ache and feel swollen at the end of any workouts or activities. The only thing that has changed is i had a shoulder surgery and I have been very inactive for the past 6 months.

I had an MRI and X ray that both came back fairly clean with no major signals of Osteoarthritis, my ACL reconstructions are in place although my left was an outdated procedure and is a little lose. My surgeon said Osteoarthritis is inevitable and I have read many articles that say ACL surgery patients develop osteoarthritis within 15 years.

My questions are;

How fast can this issue come on?

What does inital stage Osteoarthrits feel like?

What can i do to get ahead of this? Any specialits?

My fear is that im young at age 24 I never imagined that I would have to deal with this and give up things like surfing etc.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

It is possible that you have or are on your way to having osteoarthritis. Even though your doctor hasn't found any evidence of it as of yet, I think that it would be a good idea if your doctor takes periodic looks at your knee, because while it may be too early to see degeneration of the cartilage in your knee right now, it could show up later.

• Posted

Hi Clayton