25-year old nephew had liver sonogram - cirrhosis?

Posted , 4 users are following.

My 25-year old nephew recently had bloodwork done and had elevated liver numbers. His doctor ordered a sonogram, and now thinks that cirrohsis might be a possibility and is ordering additional tests. Huh, help?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I'm not a professional at all but did the sonogram show inflammation? Or did the physician just base that guess about cirrhosis on one blood test result?  My husband, a close friend of mine, and I have all had high liver numbers (AST and ALT) in our blood work that ended up being transient and nothing to worry about.  When this happened to all of us -- we are all non-alcoholic, exercising, healthy eating people in our 50s -- I did a lot of research on it and found that there is a lot of unnecessary and aggressive treatment of the 1 in 10 people whose test results come back with elevated liver numbers.  

• Posted

Thank you for writing. The sonogram showed unusual contours, which the doc said could indicate cirrhosis. He’s ordered a biopsy. I’m glad to hear you’re all okay.
    • Posted

I hope they're just acting out of caution and that someone with more information about unusual contours will post.  Very best wishes for him and for you and your family.

• Posted

Thank you so much, Kim. Doctors in this town do seem to be "test happy." He's also been on maintenance medication for a few years which has been known to elevate liver numbers, yet the doctor hasn't responded to that as a possibility. I wonder if lowering that dosage and then rechecking the bloodwork and another sono in six months would be a reasonable strategy. Yes, maybe someone with contour issues will comment. Thanks again, I appreciate your comments and good wishes.

• Posted

Cirrhosis at 25 years of age might be a new world record.  Still best to follow up on the unusual sonogram.