31, new baby and now OA in my hips! Steroid injections?!

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello! 

I’m 31 and currently on maternity leave as I’ve just had my first baby. Had pain during my pregnancy in my right hip, then found out I have no cartilage left in my right hip and have OA in both hips and back. 

Have just seen a consultant who says I can have a hip replacement now or try steroid injections. I have chose the steroid injections and now I’m on a waiting list. Has anyone tried these injections before? Do they help with the pain?

I am putting off a hip replacement as I feel I’m too young and by the time I need my 3rd hip it may not work as well. 

Sleep is a big problem, not only am I in so much pain I have a 9 month old who doesn’t sleep either and it’s draining me.

And I’m away to start work again next week, I’m a nurse who does 12 hour shift, dreading going back! 

If anyone has any advice for me on anything I’ve moaned about that would be amazing! 

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Lindsey,the injections last about one month at a time.so it will help untill you get that operation.

That is what I am gonna do.needed a hip for about 5 years the NHS here over 60years old they would operate.

But I have a family member which works there and he says more successful if done early.

• Posted

Have you been sent to a good physiotherapist ?

Here's the thing about 'OA' - there is NO diagnosis for it. It's essentially a diagnosis of exclusion - a label given for unexplained joint pain.

It is now recommended that x-rays and MRI's are NOT used to make a diagnosis of OA on the grounds that there is no correlation between severity of wear and symptoms. In other words, plenty of people have severely worn cartilage yet lead a pain free and active life. Most people with xray/mri evidence of hip OA DO NOT have symptoms.