35 yrs drinkin

Posted , 9 users are following.

Started boozing at 13. About 34 yrs ago. Always been a way of life here in Australia starting young. I was a successfull student and went to the gold mines in the outback. Good idea at the time but in hindsight deing surrounded by drinkers all day everyday didnt work out so well. As time goes on we lose ppl friends family through death and self medicate. Lots of suicide and not understanding why. Alcohol has always been my friend through good and bad times. Its seems more so now that its a constant painful acuaintance than a friend. If uour need for booze outweighs your relationships with friends family partners then a problem exsists. I have spent endless money on treatment courses phycs etc but still in the same predicament. Id just like to say that you can keep trying and not give into the evil of this addiction. I feel your pain. If AA dosnt work whick it didnt for me over several tears there has to be an alternative. And its not a liver transplant. Stay strong ppl and know this battle is long and arduous. Im still confident i can win and hold onto that belief.cheers Ben

1 like, 34 replies

34 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I feel the honesty and pain in your words. We have all been there and done it in our own way. Its hard because the rational part of our brains know that we dont want it but also there is a part that tells us its fine.

To be fair i would consider meds if you havent tried before. I am personally thinking that this might be the right course for me too after a lot of attempts to not drink and stop altogether. Its sounds like you have tried a lot of other ways so maybe this is the way forward. 

Its great you have come on to here. There is lots of support. Just any time you need to talk come on and someone will always be there. take care and keep in touch x

• Posted