3rd week of 20mg and feeling awful, is it drug or me?

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey so since sept ive been feeling depressed and regularly suffer from a lack of self-esteem. Then gf broke up with me 4 weeks ago and it got worse. started 20mg and for first week i felt was getting better from yoga but since then Ive not been able to eat, sleep, sweating, anxious/can't make decisions and constantly crying. This is my first time on anti depressants and i'm 26.

Im not sure if ist the natural bereavement (and fact i saw her on monday) or the Fluoxetine what do you think?  I can't stop over analysing whether im depressed, sad, or any other reason. I feel I am depressed but then could be the drugs.  Feels like every day on these things I get worse.

Any advice or insight you give me would be appreciated. 

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hey Sebastian

Sorry for your break-up.

Sounds like you are suffering depression and getting the standard set of Fluox side effects - which we have all been through or are going through now. The good news is thhat if you stick with the Fluox it does get better and then much better - they say six to eight weeks but I was lucky and started to come good after the third week. It was not good till then! Now I'm on week nine and feel on top of thhe world, troubles at a suitable distance - deal with what I can and then put them aside. This is my first time on anti depressants and I'm 69 - but age is not relevant.