4 weeks post op

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all, tomorrow I will be 4 weeks post op from my front and back prolapse surgery and while I am not totally pain free, is now feeling much easier. Fingers crossed I continue this way. Still have 2 weeks before thinking about going back to work.still resting and still feel tired.

1 like, 21 replies

Report / Delete

21 Replies

• Posted

I think you will need more than another 2 weeks off work carolyn. I don't know what you do but 6 weeks isn't really long enough.
    Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

Thanks matron, I am due to see my consultant on 24th, although I'm in agreement with you, at the moment I don't feel ready. I work as a secretary in the nhs so sitting most of the day.
      Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

See what your consultant says carolyn because sitting for long periods can be very uncomfortable. It helps though if you can walk around every hour or so. Have you considered phased return, I did that for what should have been 4 weeks but felt OK so went back full time after 3 having said that I was off for 13 weeks. 
      Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

I have also had this op along with other things but my consultant said to me I should be off for 3 months even if I was just have the prolapse repair as you need to make sure all the inside work has healed even if you feel well on the outside. Nobody wants to undo what they e has repaired so take care. X
      Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

Hello, I am in much the same boat, I am 4 weeks and 1 day now post surgery.

Currently nursing a suspected bladder infection which is making me rather tired but the stiches have recently started feeling a lot better and moving around is easier.

I am still focussing on spending plenty of time with my feet up reading or watching TV but do feel I am making steady progress.