4 weeks post op

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all, tomorrow I will be 4 weeks post op from my front and back prolapse surgery and while I am not totally pain free, is now feeling much easier. Fingers crossed I continue this way. Still have 2 weeks before thinking about going back to work.still resting and still feel tired.

1 like, 21 replies

21 Replies

• Posted

I think you will need more than another 2 weeks off work carolyn. I don't know what you do but 6 weeks isn't really long enough.
    • Posted

Thanks matron, I am due to see my consultant on 24th, although I'm in agreement with you, at the moment I don't feel ready. I work as a secretary in the nhs so sitting most of the day.
    • Posted

See what your consultant says carolyn because sitting for long periods can be very uncomfortable. It helps though if you can walk around every hour or so. Have you considered phased return, I did that for what should have been 4 weeks but felt OK so went back full time after 3 having said that I was off for 13 weeks. 
    • Posted

Yes I'm also waiting to see occupational health so they will determine what it should be. I can get up and walk around, that's not a problem.
    • Posted

That's good carolyn it will definitely make your return to work much easier.
    • Posted

I have also had this op along with other things but my consultant said to me I should be off for 3 months even if I was just have the prolapse repair as you need to make sure all the inside work has healed even if you feel well on the outside. Nobody wants to undo what they e has repaired so take care. X
    • Posted

Well said Fi-45 I always say don't undo your consultants good work 
  • Posted

Hello, I am in much the same boat, I am 4 weeks and 1 day now post surgery.

Currently nursing a suspected bladder infection which is making me rather tired but the stiches have recently started feeling a lot better and moving around is easier.